DAY 21… challenges confronted and faced down!

HI! I had 10 drinks today… a perfect 10!  kinda…

So it takes 21 days (or so) to break a habit or at least begin to map out new behavior to supplant the former.    I felt as if the old habit of mindless munching wanted to rear its ugly head(s)… I felt hungry today and really tired.  (It didn’t help, of course, that I did not sleep more than a few hours the night before…that’s another matter, though. Studies do show that sleep deprivation correlates to extra poundage due to the need for more energy, therefore increased food consumption…) Anyhoo, I did take in extra juice and vegan protein to fight off fatigue as well as ward off the maddening curiosity to chew something.  Notice I said curiosity…the stranglehold is no longer as strong, it seems. I would previously have said the “need,” “drive,” or compulsion to chomp away, but it was more of a nagging string of teaser thoughts.  Now that I am reflecting on it, it is almost as if the defeated creature is merely muttering as it slinks away. …  that’s really funny, eh?!

The juices I had are surprisingly palatable and yummy!

1-grapefruit, dandelion greens, and lemon with chia (excellent as usual, especially because I am growing ever fonder of grapefruit juice)

2-apple, golden beets, beets greens, and ginger (light and balanced)

3-maca shake with flax, quinoa mylk, almond mylk, coconut water, and Boku Super foods green powder (just alright–not my fav thing, but my adrenals need the nutrition, so I keep taking it along with cod liver oil and lysine.)

4-red beet wellness shot with turmeric and cayenne

5- carrot, spinach, celery, and lemon juice (quite delightful with lemon in it–really adds a rounded out flavor to the juices)

6- savory sip of the day!!! awesomeness!!! 4 tomatoes, 3 celery stalks, 1 red bell pepper, 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 jalapeno, parley, basil, cilantro, cayenne, Himalayan salt, apple cider vinegar, braggs aminos, and nutritional yeast dash….  THIS MADE MY DAY!  It really is nice to have something a bit salty.  Loved this and would make it again! FOR SURE… great for a change of pace… It was so great, it was worthy of a pretty glass and a photo…SEE?!  2013-03-21 15.36.38

7- almond mylk with Ceylon cinnamon (Blech… did not do it for me today)

8-Sunwarrior shake with coconut water and cherry juice…. (gag me… threw out most of it)

9-Kale, cucumber, lemon, and ginger… (tough tasting, but went down alright)

10-cantaloupe and basil.. (needed a reliable soother today)

Despite the fatigue, today was a “win” of a day as I got my entire checklist of to-dos accomplished and even played a bunch with my pup Rocky.  As he sighs from a corner chair watching me type this, I believe he is adding his dissenting opinion on that. LOL

4 thoughts on “DAY 21… challenges confronted and faced down!

  1. mmmmm…Cantaloupe and basil…. That sounds like a winning combo.

    • I think you’ll love it! Sometimes I add cucumber to it to make it even better… Basil really adds a creamy taste somehow to fruit juices plus it is so healing as a relaxant. Perfect for a night cap 🙂

  2. Rocky and his “dissenting sigh”? What a character! Thanks for sharing!

    • HIII TED-eeee!!!
      Isn’t Rocky great?! I love him…I tell him that all day long… 🙂
      I hope we get to catch up over a raw/vegan meal…or even a few bites of sushi– still open to clean meats! 🙂
      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

