An Artful Fast…

wpid-2015-02-09-08.19.27.jpg.jpeg

“To eat is a necessity, but to eat intelligently is an art.”

― François de La Rochefoucauld

This is worth saying again… dwelling upon.

Entering the Lunar New Year and this Lenten season, I choose to walk out this incredibly potent period of confluence with mindfulness and making deliberate choices. This is not the typical fast for me where I hardline what I can and will not have, but rather, it will be one of allowances and finesse.

How?

Well, I am choosing to practice artful eating by opting for real foods that have not been touched by man’s “food” conveniences. Yes. I will get to see how deeply reliant I am on commercialized, processed, and pre-packaged foods and examine the effects of the food industry’s agenda upon mine.

Do you know just how powerful the 1 trillion dollar food industry may be in its impact on you and your wellness? Well, I will have you ponder upon the startling statistic that the effects of our food choices have resulted 1.4 trillion dollars spent on health issues caused by the foods we eat. Consider who is truly ruling your eating choices–you or a monstrous power parading about through low-fat, tastier, addictive, sugar/preservative/toxic-laden consumables? Does most of what is on the average grocery shelf really classify “food” nowadays?

Before I get myself too worked up… I am simply saying I am planning to consciously fight the numbing ease of commercialized, convenient consumables by weighing such costs and get myself into a better practice by opting for recognizably real food…food closer to the earth from which it was grown. There are so many larger forces at play and I refuse to be bullied about by them… as much as I am able to make a difference in at least my life (and hopefully my husband’s and dog’s.) It may not be easy, but I will be made more aware and freed by the effort itself.

In case you want to join me… these are my guidelines:
1- prefer plant-based meals–organic and local whenever possible
2- food should be recognizable from the source it is from… (that means most breads are off the table, unless they with sprouted grains, with no sugars added, and full of fiber. Raw breads would be ideal.) Deep fried foods are not worth choosing to eat. Re-think fast food! Go for an apple, instead of a snack bar.
3- no additives or sweeteners unless from whole food source like dates (stevia if already in a vegan protein, for example, is permissible.) Sea Salt in moderation is good.
4- when eating animal flesh, or any animal-sourced food (yogurt, eggs, milk) inquire into and eat only organic, free-range, sustainably wild-caught options. Did you know vegans “save” 100 animals each year?
5- if eating out, always ask for organic options in produce and protein choices…and even ask about making the dishes without added sugars and especially the neurotoxin MSG. Prefer olive oil & vinegar as a dressing.
6- only use canned legumes and soup stocks if BPA-free, but prefer bulk bin shopping
7- explore the gorgeous array of edibles offered through creation and remember that the better I acknowledge and appreciate all living creatures, I will be that much more deeply nourished and part of more mindfully stewarding all life sharing this planet.
8- always read the labels and learn the other names of additives, sweeteners, preservatives…
9- stay grateful that I can make such choices.

Why this type of fast? … mostly for the practice of walking my faith step by step acknowledging the wisdom of my Creator in the most simple act of eating intelligently…consuming spiritual, soulful, and physical sustenance in a way most responsibly, expecting to be a blessing and be blessed along the way. Liberation comes from discipline and how wonderful it shall be to walk out this freeing season in newness!

Join me if you would like… and share your journey with me.

“Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.”
-3 John 1:2 KJV

10959919_738123522974193_8649910396959063369_oas

Leave a Reply

